Bennetts Suzuki


Bennetts Suzuki

Hawk Racing’s Team Principal, Stuart Hicken is the driving force behind the team’s successes. After retiring from competitive racing, Stuart worked on Grand Prix bikes for a decade before switching to team management, forming his own team and entering the British Superbike Championship in 1998.

The team immediately racked up the results; winning the Cup Championship in their debut season with Phil Giles before they scored their first podium with Glen Richards in 2003 and a maiden race win with Scott Smart in 2004. Hicken’s team were victorious in the National Superstock 1000 Championship in 2011 as Richard Cooper won the title. The team continued to show strong progress through 2012 and 2013.

2014 transpired to be Hawk Racing’s most successful racing season to date; they won seven British Superbike races, Lee Jackson took his first ever Superstock 1000cc win at Thruxton and Michael Dunlop won both Superbike TT races, with a win and second position at the North West 200. In 2015, Lee Jackson moved into Superbikes alongside Ryuichi Kiyonari and had a successful début year with several top-10 results. Richard Cooper joined the team late in the race calendar and Michael Dunlop made a sensational return to the team mid-way through practice week at the Isle of Man TT races; going on to secure the 2nd fastest lap in the history of the event with a 132.515mph lap of the mountain circuit on BMW machinery.

The teams winning ways continued into 2016. Richard Cooper lined up alongside Lee Jackson in the British Superbike Championship, and Taylor Mackenzie challenged in the National Superstock class. Taylor dominated his class and soared to the top of the leaderboard very early in the season, holding his own throughout the 12 rounds and taking the Championship title for the team. Out on the roads the formidable partnership between Hawk Racing and Michael Dunlop continued to impress, taking on the gruelling Isle of Man mountain course, the International North West and the Southern 100, coming out triumphant with eight wins and various records smashed, most notably the first ever TT sub-17 minute lap with a 16:58.439 and a new TT outright lap record of 133.962mph.

In 2017 Hawk Racing will run a four-man squad under the name of Bennetts Suzuki that includes Sylvain Guintoli and Taylor Mackenzie in British Superbikes, Richard Cooper in National Superstock 1000 and Michael Dunlop on the International Road Race Circuit aboard the new GSX-R1000 machines.

Team Partners

Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2018